Medication Safety LAN Event: October 2017

Topic: A Review of Patient Activation & Prescription Drug Monitoring: Resources to Enhance Medication Management with Patients

Date: Wednesday, October 11, 2017


Audience:

This Medication Safety Learning and Action Network (LAN) Event was open to beneficiaries, families, healthcare providers, practitioners, partners, and Quality Innovation Network-Quality Improvement Organizations.

Call Summary:

Listen to this event to learn about the utilization of two resources – the Patient Activation Measure (PAM) and Prescription Drug Monitoring Programs (PDMPs). Hear from local QIN-QIOs that have supported providers in their use of the PAM and PDMPs and understand how these resources are beneficial for both patients and providers. Also, hear from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) to understand universal functions of PDMPs across the nation and how providers can leverage PDMP data to improve medication safety.

Download the event flyer here.

Learning Objectives:

  • Understand what the Patient Activation Measure (PAM) is and how to apply the resource.

  • Explain the importance of a Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) and how to utilize within your practice.

  • Provide access to training and resources for individual state PDMPs.

  • Explain the application and potential patient outcomes associated with both the PAM and PDMP.

Slides & Recorded Presentation:

Meet the Speakers:

Kelly Arthur
Improvement Consultant
Health Quality Innovators

Kim Cahill
Project Coordinator
Quality Insights Quality Innovation Network

Risa Hayes
Program Specialist
Telligen Quality Innovation Network

Danna Droz
Prescription Monitoring Program Liaison
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy

Sheila Sullivan
Product Manager
Appriss Health

Cheryl Anderson
Medication Safety Pharmacist
Atlantic Quality Innovation Network

Rachel Digmann
Medication Safety & Program Lead
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist
Telligen Quality Innovation Network

   

Supplemental Resources:

QIN-QIO Patient Activation Measure® (PAM®) Contacts by State*:

State

Contact Person

Email Address

AK

Amberly Hobbs

ahobbs@mpqhf.org

AL

Bart Prevallet

Bart.Prevallet@area-G.HCQIS.org

AR

Vanessa Andow

Vanessa.Andow@area-B.hcqis.org

AZ

Ettie Lande

elande@hsag.com

CA

Barb Averyt

baveryt@hsag.com

CO

Meredith Koob

meredith.koob@area-D.hcqis.org,

CT

Lynne Chase

lchase@healthcentricadvisors.org

DC

Janet Jones

Jonesj3@delmarvafoundation.org

FL

Christine Lewandowski

clewandowski@hsag.com

GA

Jennifer Hodge

Jennifer.Hodge@AlliantQuality.org

HI

Maggie Okey

Maggie.Okey@area-h.hcqis.org

IL

Tracey Durns

Tracey.Durns@area-D.hcqis.org,

IN

Bart Prevallet

Bart.Prevallet@area-G.HCQIS.org

MA

Stephanie Baker

sbaker@healthcentricadvisors.org

MD

Kelly Arthur

karthur@vhqc.org

ME

Rachel Crowe

RCrowe@healthcentricadvisors.org

MO

Dana Schmitz

dschmitz@primaris.org

MT

Mark Marabella

Mark.Marabella@area-h.hcqis.org

NC

Jennifer Hodge

Jennifer.Hodge@AlliantQuality.org

ND

Sally May

sally.may@area-a.hcqis.org

NE

Paula Sitzman

paula.sitzman@area-a.hcqis.org

NH

Rachel Eichenbaum

Rachel.Eichenbaum@area-N.hcqis.org

NJ

Andy Miller

andy.miller@area-J.hcqis.org

OH

Rosi McGinnis

rmcginnis@hsag.com

OK

Susan Waldron

Susan.Waldron@Area-B.HCQIS.Org

PA

Kim Cahill

kcahill@wvmi.org

PR

Vanessa Andow

Vanessa.Andow@area-B.hcqis.org

RI

Lynne Chase

lchase@healthcentricadvisors.org

SD

Linda Penisten

linda.penisten@area-a.hcqis.org

TX

Cindy Bigbee

Cindy.Bigbee@Area-B.Hcqis.org

VA

Carla Thomas

cthomas@vhqc.org

VT

Lynne Chase

lchase@healthcentricadvisors.org

WA

Meghan Donohue

Meghan.Donohue@area-L.hcqis.org

WY

Mark Marabella

Mark.Marabella@area-h.hcqis.org

*If your state or territory does not appear in this list, contact Risa Hayes at risa.hayes@qinncc.hcqis.org.

CE Statement

Outcome Statement: 

The purpose of this session is to prepare healthcare quality improvement professionals to identify and implement effective healthcare strategies by exploring promising practices to achieve individual and community health equity.We expect that this experience will help participants demonstrate and promote successful delivery of care practices and identify opportunities for improvement, all of which may promote advances in care that impact the Medicare beneficiaries served by the work of the QIO Program.

Method of Participation:

You must participate in the entire activity to receive credit. A statement of credit will be available upon completion of an online evaluation/claimed credit form. The link to the online evaluation will be provided after completion of the activity. If you have questions about this CME/CE activity, please contact AKH Inc. at service@akhcme.com.

CME/CE Credit Provided by AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare

Physicians:

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare, CRW & Associates and Telligen.  AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians. 

AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare designates this live activity for a maximum of 1.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Physician Assistants:

NCCPA accepts AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ from organizations accredited by ACCME.

Pharmacy:

AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmacy education.

AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare approves this knowledge-based activity for 1.5 contact hours (0.15 CEUs). UAN 0077-9999-17-039-L04-P; UAN 0077-9999-17-039-L04-T.  Initial Release Date: 10/11/17

Nursing:

AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation. This activity is awarded 1.5 contact hours.

Nurse Practitioners:

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation Standards of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) through the joint providership of AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare, CRW & Associates and Telligen. AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare is accredited by the American Association of Nurse Practitioners as an approved provider of nurse practitioner continuing education. Provider number: 030803

This activity is accredited for 1.5 contact hour(s) which includes 0 hour(s) of pharmacology. Activity ID #21718-9

Dietitians:

AKH Inc., Advancing Knowledge in Healthcare is a Continuing Professional Education (CPE) Accredited Provider with the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR). Registered dietitians (RDs) and dietetic technicians, registered (DTRs) will receive 1.5 continuing professional education unit (CPEU) for completion of this program/material. CDR Accredited Provider #AN008. The focus of this activity is rated Level 2. Learners may submit evaluations of program/materials quality to the CDR at www.cdrnet.org.


 

Disclosure of Financial Relationships & Commercial Support:

  • The following planners and faculty do not have any relevant financial relationships to disclose.
  • AKH Inc., CRW & Associates, and Telligen do not have any relevant financial relationships to disclose.
  • No commercial support was received for this activity.

Disclosures:

It is the policy of AKH Inc. to ensure independence, balance, objectivity, scientific rigor, and integrity in all of its continuing education activities. The author must disclose to the participants any significant relationships with commercial interests whose products or devices may be mentioned in the activity or with the commercial supporter of this continuing education activity. Identified conflicts of interest are resolved by AKH prior to accreditation of the activity and may include any of or combination of the following: attestation to non-commercial content; notification of independent and certified CME/CE expectations; referral to National Author Initiative training; restriction of topic area or content; restriction to discussion of science only; amendment of content to eliminate discussion of device or technique; use of other author for discussion of recommendations; independent review against criteria ensuring evidence support recommendation; moderator review; and peer review.

Disclosure of Unlabeled Use and Investigational Product:

This educational activity may include discussion of uses of agents that are investigational and/or unapproved by the FDA. Please refer to the official prescribing information for each product for discussion of approved indications, contraindications, and warnings.

Disclaimer:

This course is designed solely to provide the healthcare professional with information to assist in his/her practice and professional development and is not to be considered a diagnostic tool to replace professional advice or treatment. The course serves as a general guide to the healthcare professional, and therefore, cannot be considered as giving legal, nursing, medical, or other professional advice in specific cases. AKH Inc. specifically disclaim responsibility for any adverse consequences resulting directly or indirectly from information in the course, for undetected error, or through participant's misunderstanding of the content.