In 2014 the Quality Improvement Organization Program was restructured following the passage of the Trade Adjustment Assistance Extension Act of 2011 (Trade Law). This gave the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) flexibility to separate the QIO Program functions of quality improvement initiatives from Medicare beneficiary protection work. Two Beneficiary and Family Centered Care-QIOs (BFCC-QIOs) manage all beneficiary complaints and appeals across the nation. BFCC-QIOs work in partnership with providers to:

  • Bring the voices of beneficiaries and families into health care case review activities to increase communication and improve the care experience.
  • Inform health care providers about medical record review activity at their facility. This is done through the facility’s designated QIO Liaison. Your facility can select and designate its QIO Liaison by notifying your BFCC-QIO in writing.
  • Monitor and administer physician acknowledgement statements for hospitals.
  • Monitor and administer provider Memorandums of Agreement (MOAs).

Our Locate Your QIN-QIO or Locate Your BFCC-QIO page can help you find your state’s BFCC-QIO. Or, reference the BFCC-QIO listing below.

BFCC-QIO Contact Information by Region or State

Region 1:
Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont 

Region 2:
New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Region 3:
Delaware, DC, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

Region 4:
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

Region 5:
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Region 6:
Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 7:
Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

Region 8:
Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Region 9:
Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Guam, N. Mariana Islands, American Samoa

Region 10:
Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington