Health Care Navigation Program

Beneficiary and Family Centered Care Quality Improvement Organizations (BFCC-QIOs) are helping people with Medicare coordinate their health care, connecting them and caregivers with resources, and providing support to better understand the health care system.

Patients and their families and caregivers are often on their own when it comes to coordinating needed health care. This can be a stressful task, especially for those who are not familiar with how the health care system works.

The free Health Care Navigation Program is administered by the Quality Improvement Organization Program's two BFCC-QIOs and offers a good solution to people with Medicare. This program has the potential of creating direction for people with Medicare as they go through the health care system and are connected to care they need in various health care settings, such as physician offices, hospitals and skilled nursing facilities.

An article published in QIO News, Health Care Navigation Program Helps Medicare Patients Navigate the Health Care System, includes patient stories that shows how the program works.

Do you have Medicare? Do you need help figuring out what care you need and how to access it?

If so, you can get more information about the Beneficiary Health Care Navigation program by contacting the BFCC-QIO in your state. Find your state‚Äôs BFCC-QIO by checking the list below.

BFCC-QIO Contact Information by Region or State

Northeast and Caribbean:
Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Virgin Islands, Vermont

Mid-Atlantic and Southeast:
Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia

Mountain, North Central and South:
Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wyoming

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Wisconsin

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington