File a Complaint

Beneficiary and Family Centered Care Quality Improvement Organizations (BFCC-QIOs) can help when you have a concern about the quality of the medical care you are receiving from a health care facility (e.g. hospital, nursing home, or home health agency) or professional. You can file a formal Medicare complaint through your BFCC-QIO.

Examples of quality of care concerns include but are not limited to:

  • Receiving the wrong medication
  • Receiving an overdose of medication
  • Receiving unnecessary surgery
  • Receiving unnecessary diagnostic testing
  • Experiencing a change in condition that was not treated
  • Receiving a misdiagnosis
  • Receiving inadequate discharge instructions

A Medicare beneficiary can contact his or her BFCC-QIO if he or she:

  • Needs to discuss the quality of care received;
  • Wants to file a formal quality of care complaint; or
  • Needs help to understand his or her Medicare rights.

beneficiary can call 1-800-MEDICARE if he or she:

Trained staff is available to provide:

  • Answers to your questions about complaints and the filing process
  • Assistance with completing the Quality of Care Complaint Form
  • Translation services

You or your representative may contact your BFCC-QIO to have a Medicare quality of care complaint form sent to you by mail. Or you can access the Medicare quality of care complaint form online. You can find your state’s BFCC-QIO by checking the list below.

You can submit your complaint by mail or fax (emailed forms can not be accepted):

Mail: Download the Medicare quality of care complaint form, complete and mail to your BFCC-QIO’s address.

Fax: Download the Medicare quality of care complaint form, complete and fax to your BFCC-QIO’s fax number.

You can learn more about filing a complaint on

BFCC-QIO Contact Information by Region or State

Northeast and Caribbean:
Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Virgin Islands, Vermont

Mid-Atlantic and Southeast:
Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia

Mountain, North Central, and South:
Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wyoming

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Wisconsin

Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington